Posted by: The Prince of Whales | February 12, 2011

New York, New York … so bad I smoked it twice


A great looking but poor smoking cigar

On my recent trip across the pond, I bought a small selection of non Cuban cigars. The cigar culture in the States is very different to here and the embargo on Cuban products has lead to massive selection of cigars from Honduras, Nicaragua and the Dominican Republic. The choice of brands, fuelled by a cigar boom a few years back,  has expanded even more since I worked there almost a decade ago.

One cigar that looked really good and came well recommended was the Alec Bradley New York. Only on sale in New York State, there are several cigars in the range but I bought a couple of the Gothams – at 6 inches long and 54 ring guage, these really looked the business. not so much my kind town as my kind cigar. The torpedo shape I love with a dark oily wrapper and Habana seed Honduran tobacco.

The cigars are extremely well presented as you can see from the photo above and the one of the exact cigar below.

Unfortunately not as good as it looks

The first one I smoked a couple of weeks ago was a real disappointment. It wasn’t so much the taste, which was full flavoured and spicy but it was the construction. The cigar was just too loose. The draw was way too easy and the damn thing almost fell to bits on the last third.

So tonight I lit up another and to my disappointment it was exactly the same. I had to abandon the smoke at the start of the last third as it kept going out because the tobacco was expanding like a toilet roll dropped down the pan!

I gave up and lit up another Don Pepin Black Label. Now that’s a great cigar.

Responses

  1. Great pics shame about the performance of them!


Leave a Reply

Categories

