Posted by: The Prince of Whales | September 27, 2010

Moseley Business Association


Do you run a business in Moseley?

I operate The Prince of Wales with my wife Diane. Tomorrow night I will be standing for election as Chairman of The Moseley Business Association (MBA). I need your support to secure this position. I have not been involved with the MBA before.

Now, more than ever, this organisation needs to stand up and represent the interests of business and the community as a whole. I would argue over the last few years, it has failed to do this. It is time for change.

Should I be elected, I would work to guide the MBA towards the following objectives:

  • To work with businesses and residents to develop a vision for Moseley. How do we want our community to develop and where do we see it in 10, 20 or even 50 years time. To look outside to other places that have been successful, like Brighton, Camden or other suburbs of cities overseas.
  • The MBA needs to influence planning and development policy, helping to shape the future of Moseley and what it feels like to live and work here.
  • To explore ways to boost the day time economy in Moseley, bringing in more people who will be economically active across a broad spectrum of businesses.
  • To play to our strengths. Moseley has a rich heritage in culture, leisure and the arts. We need play to these strengths and attract more businesses to Moseley that make the village a destination, not just at night but also during the day.
  • We need to drive solutions to some practical issues like Christmas Lights, parking, policing and CCTV.
  • As an association we need to provide a lead on the development of the few remaining key sites in Moseley (The Jug of Ale, Meteor Ford, Moneywise). These are the last big development sites left and we need to lobby to encourage development that takes us closer to our shared vision for Moseley.

If you agree with these points, and you run a business in Moseley, then please vote for me. You can email me at keith.marsden@hotmail.com and I will forward you the proxy voting form.  Better still, attend tomorrow’s AGM and challenge me with some better ideas. Alternatively come and talk to me at The Prince tonight after 7pm.

I need as much support as I can get to ensure I am elected so please, if you run a business, vote for me.

Thank you

Keith Marsden

Leave a Reply

Categories

